25 Things About Me

The fundraising won’t end but the level challenge is over as of midnight tonight, August 31, 2012. It was successful effort and I’m profoundly grateful to those who donated and to those who will donate. Y’all don’t be afraid to be click on that donate button. Since I’m pretty much public now, here’s more about me:

  • Why yes, I am a self-centered, egotistical bastard. Now that that’s out of the way, feel free to keep reading.
  • I’ve been around the world. In my youth I bought a round-the-world plane ticket and spent a couple of months bumming around Asia with my brother and then flew on to England where I attended university for a year.
  • My high school diploma is from a snooty New England private school.
  • For six months, a 28-foot sailboat was home for me, a wife, and a cat.
  • Heights terrify me. It’s really bad. Don’t get me started on large insects. Shudder.
  • I have malaria but haven’t had an attack in a few years.
  • Car? What car? My motorcycle has 120K miles on it. (2004 Suzuki V-Strom 650)
  • TV? What TV? All Internet, all the time.
  • There are scars on my body from injuries while working as a roughneck on an oil drilling rig in the United Arab Emirates.
  • The FriendZone® – while in high school, I explored all of it. It’s a bleak and soulless place.
  • My degree? BA in Geography so don’t tell me to get lost, I can’t.
  • Well, I do get lost in shopping malls. It’s embarrassing.
  • There’s a piece of paper in my desk that certifies me to teach high school in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. It’s legit.
  • “…one giant leap for mankind.” I saw that on live TV. But I was really young at the time.
  • The winter air pollution in Santiago, Chile is awful. My boogers were black for months.
  • There are four huge regrets in my life, three of them involve the hearts of three women.
  • In 1983, there was a factory in China that still manufactured steam locomotives. The tour was awesome. It was like being in Vulcan’s workshop.
  • Since I was 18, I’ve had over 30 separate mailing addresses.
  • So far, an honest fist fight has eluded me in life. Relax, I’m not looking for one.
  • One brother, one step-brother, two step-sisters.
  • Other than heights and huge insects, I’m not really scared of anything. Yes, that includes death.
  • It’s likely obvious to my readers that I don’t have kids.
  • 260 lbs at my heaviest four years ago, 190 lbs now. It was a lifestyle change.
  • On a weird weekend, a school friend and I went into the outback to hunt kangaroos. I wasn’t a good shot. He was a good shot but the kangaroos were too fast.

(I may or may not answer questions in the comments… it depends on the questions.)

  1. #1 by Alpha on August 31, 2012 - 10:07 AM

    Does it feel, looking back on it now (And with many, many more years to come) that you’re living a full and fulfilling life?

    • #2 by theprivateman on August 31, 2012 - 10:16 AM

      If I have the opportunity to share wisdom, always. I am a teacher at heart and with any vehicle to communicate knowledge (such as the Manosphere), Wealth, status, and material possessions all take a back seat.

  2. #3 by Bronan the Barbarian! on August 31, 2012 - 10:13 AM

    Congrats on losing that much weight. I assume it was a diet change?

    • #4 by theprivateman on August 31, 2012 - 10:17 AM

      Yup. There was a woman behind that, too. I didn’t lose weight for her. Rather, she cooked every day and I ate relatively small portions. It took awhile.

  3. #5 by greenlander on August 31, 2012 - 10:26 AM

    “My degree? BA in Geography so don’t tell me to get lost, I can’t.”

    There was an episode of the newer version of the Twilight Zone where a professor said, “I’d sell my soul for the answer to this problem.” The devil appeared, but gave him an opportunity not to sell his soul if he could tell the devil to do something he couldn’t do. He told the devil “get lost!” The devil, being omnipotent, couldn’t do that. So, he melted away and the professor threw his sunglasses in the trash.

    • #6 by theprivateman on August 31, 2012 - 10:34 AM

      I remember that episode. The devil was played by Sherman Hemsley, as I recall.

  4. #7 by 3rd Millenium Men on August 31, 2012 - 11:43 AM

    “There are four huge regrets in my life, three of them involve the hearts of three women.”

    Not properly pursuing the hearts of those women, breaking their hearts or something else?

    • #8 by theprivateman on August 31, 2012 - 12:36 PM

      Breaking.

      • #9 by walderschmidt on August 31, 2012 - 1:56 PM

        Better to have broken than to have been broken.

      • #10 by siquaeris on September 1, 2012 - 5:21 PM

        I often wonder, why do men hold onto those kinds of regrets (breaking a woman’s heart), while women seem to let them go more easily? I know it’s not 100% true, but it seems to be a definite difference between men and women. I’ve read some articles that suggest that this is because men love more purely and wholly than women, but I’m really not sure.

        And what about that 4th regret?

      • #11 by theprivateman on September 2, 2012 - 10:24 AM

        Good observation about breaking a woman’s heart.

        The 4th regret? Eh, not going there. There are some things that will go to my grave.

  5. #12 by tapanar on August 31, 2012 - 12:15 PM

    I want to thank you for writing this blog and for tweeting. I’m 23 and I find your perspective on the topics very insightful (which I attribute to our age difference and your life experience).

    A recent decision that I made for myself is to focus on work, making money and exercising, rather than wasting time gaming stupid bitches (I’m only average height and skinnier than most guys). I’m expecting things to change as I continue to approach 30. I don’t think I’ll be getting married, though.

    • #13 by John Galt on September 6, 2012 - 11:30 PM

      You are wise beyond your years.

  6. #14 by Rafasch on August 31, 2012 - 12:37 PM

    Do you have any tattoo? When is your birthday? Do you play any instrument?

    • #15 by theprivateman on August 31, 2012 - 12:53 PM

      No ink, no piercings. I had about at decade’s worth of classical music piano lessons.

  7. #16 by just visiting on August 31, 2012 - 2:05 PM

    What happened on the oil rig?

    • #17 by theprivateman on August 31, 2012 - 2:19 PM

      Flesh wounds and nothing even modestly disfiguring, just some random scars. There’s lots of sharp, moving metal on an oil rig. Ouch!

      • #18 by just visiting on August 31, 2012 - 2:34 PM

        Tell me about it. My oldest is currently doing this. When he’s in town, he likes to pull up videos to show me what he does. At which point I smile and nod encouragingly, while inwardly resisting a heart attack.

  8. #19 by Something Smells Fishy About This "Study" on August 31, 2012 - 2:58 PM

    “Better to have broken than to have been broken.”

    No actually. Better to have loved and lost than never loved at all!

    • #20 by theprivateman on August 31, 2012 - 3:01 PM

      As Agent K said to Agent J in Men in Black, “Try it”

    • #21 by walderschmidt on August 31, 2012 - 7:26 PM

      I was saying that I thought it was better to break a heart than to have your own broken.

  9. #22 by FFY on August 31, 2012 - 3:14 PM

    What was it like having to go around in a horse and buggy when you were a teenager? Did you need a permit when you were 14?

    • #23 by theprivateman on August 31, 2012 - 3:23 PM

      Dude, you live so far into the midwest, you think salt is an exotic spice. I’ll cut you some slack because of that. Have a good weekend and don’t get alcohol poisoning with those other two scrofulous turds.

  10. #24 by Doug on August 31, 2012 - 3:46 PM

    How much does a round-the-world plane ticket cost?

  11. #25 by Vicomte on August 31, 2012 - 5:43 PM

    Suffield Academy, by chance?

    I only ask because I live down the street, and those snooty bitches always check me out.

    • #26 by theprivateman on September 1, 2012 - 7:28 AM

      Nah… but snooty New England prep schools are legion.

  12. #27 by wingman on August 31, 2012 - 8:06 PM

    Congratulations on the weight loss – but especially on quitting smoking. Of all the crazy things you’ve done, that may end up being the most beneficial. And fistfights and kids are over-rated.

    • #28 by NMH on September 1, 2012 - 9:29 AM

      Fist fight are good to avoid if your an ectomorph who would probably get his assed kicked.

  13. #29 by Laguna Beach Fogey on September 2, 2012 - 10:46 AM

    Interesting.

  14. #30 by just visiting on September 3, 2012 - 11:59 AM

    Hence the death of marriage and co-habitation. Joint finances can be a b-tch.

  15. #31 by just visiting on September 3, 2012 - 5:31 PM

    Not one for potentials? Lol.
    Perhaps too many years on my part creating and buying start ups.
    Interesting question for men. Would they be willing to to take a chance on a model if she got fat. (History of thin) Or would they require a finished product?

    • #32 by Hamster Tamer on September 6, 2012 - 2:18 AM

      Umm, let’s turn this around: for an accomplished, educated, physically FIT, positive cash-flow kinda manly-man… at what calendar age (of the woman) can such a man ass-u-me that said woman *IS* a finished product… in our Age of Perpetual Oprah/EPL? Is that age 28? 35? 47? Ever/Never? See-wee-ous-wy, it SEEMS like you’re arguing for open-ended IRresponsibility for all women… which is to say, the current post-Marxist/Feminist status quo… D’OH! (And how, precisely, does that square with the Strong Independent Woman™???) :roll:

      Also, let’s get beyond the shallow fat/thin terms, and talk about healthy vs. UNhealthy, responsible contributing member of relationship/family/society vs. BURDEN on relationship/family/society. Consider the pitfalls of being in a relationship with someone who moves (at least temporarily, e.g. yo-yo dieting) from UNhealthy to healthy FOR SOMEONE ELSE, vs. for their own inner reasons and self-esteem. Dweamy in chick-flicks, DISASTROUS in real life… the shame-based motives, the deep-seated resentments. It’s in all the psych textbooks. Lawdy.

      OTOH, you slay me with MULTI-level comedy when you analogize single women as start-up companies, LMAO!! :D :D

      • #33 by just visiting on September 6, 2012 - 3:11 AM

        lol, look at the comment above between PM and me. There was a commenter that was banned and her comments have been removed. What you’re reading is a back and forth between her and I on some of her obnoxiousness. A bit like a one sided telephone call, lol.

      • #34 by just visiting on September 6, 2012 - 3:48 AM

        The clean up has also made things a bit glitchy and my comments that are remaining are out of sequence.

      • #35 by theprivateman on September 6, 2012 - 8:09 AM

        I gave up on cleaning up the comments. Feh.

  16. #36 by FFY on September 4, 2012 - 6:45 PM

    I’m sure PM is heart broken he’ll never be able to experience your moxie.

    On the plus side, I’m sure Mr. Big is right around the corner just waiting for the day he basks in your awesomeness.

  17. #37 by PennyFarthing on September 4, 2012 - 7:05 PM

    Enough with the SATC references, can we all grow up and move on?…

    [Arguing with the blog's owner? Arguing the man, not the message? Lady, that's not moxie, that's just not very bright. So, you're in a time out so you can study basic logic and basic manners. Oh, the time out is forever.]

  18. #38 by just visiting on September 4, 2012 - 8:16 PM

    Lol, with PF’s comments removed, I look like I’m babbling to myself. Honestly folks, David Letterman doesn’t talk to me through the t.v.

    • #39 by just visiting on September 4, 2012 - 8:18 PM

      Aannnd, comment not where it should be. Ah well.

    • #40 by theprivateman on September 4, 2012 - 8:18 PM

      I’m trying to clean up the comments and that might mean deleting some of yours, sorry to say. As I’ve never banned anyone before, I’m not real good with the clean up.

      • #41 by just visiting on September 4, 2012 - 9:25 PM

        Understand completely.

  19. #42 by Hamster Tamer on September 5, 2012 - 5:09 PM

    #26) He’s uber-stealthy. I live like 400 meters from TPM, drive or stroll down his “strasse” 2-4 times/week, and I don’t even know what color his bald spot is, lol. I’m even closer to Dog Walk Central, but have never once spotted the exotic “Lucy”… spotted–get it?–arr, arr, arr. Ahem. Mostly this is due to him being a grown-up with a day job, and me being a vampire who seldom hits the bricks ‘fore noon. (I blame ze Cluster B FwB wimminz…;’)

    Also, he’s a regular at several happy-shiny bars, whereas I’m a rare visitor to a certain authentic Greek restaurant (lately closed for reno’s). The oft-mentioned ice cream shoppe I visit only when family comes from the mainland and drags me there. We’re just in different loops.

    Sometimes the TPM motor-sickle is there, sometimes it’s gone, but it must make very little noise in the coming and the going. Magic bike, ghost rider. Never have I seen any screaming wimminz or police cruisers in front of Casa-TPM… just the occasional news reports of “missing woman, last seen at…”… this shows character and discretion on TPM’s part, and keeps the village peaceful.

    Still, would it kill him to stop by and lend a wrench-hand towards getting my 4×4 back in proper trim for hurricane season? Maybe drop off a used GF once in a while? :D

    • #43 by theprivateman on September 5, 2012 - 5:39 PM

      You keep dropping hints yet you’re just as stealthy as me. And check your email.

    • #44 by Hamster Tamer on September 7, 2012 - 3:44 AM

      Also, TPM is pursuing quality gals with LTR potential, whereas I, of late, seem to have a Skewed Charisma that attracts cheating wives who have flat tummies, spray-on tans, augmented radio dials… and Cluster B disorders… :eek: Not a lot of overlap in that Venn diagram, lulz.

  20. #45 by Hamster Tamer on September 6, 2012 - 2:26 AM

    “… snooty New England private school.”

    SEE? I *told* you TPM was Ye Olde Money! Truth be told, I’ve been trying to marry INTO Old Money® for so long, I can SMELL it… even over the interwebs!

    Says he’s got TWO step-sisters… could be my big break. :wink:

  21. #46 by Hamster Tamer on September 8, 2012 - 2:10 AM

    > For six months, a 28-foot sailboat was home for me, a wife, and a cat.>
    > There are scars on my body from injuries while working as a roughneck on an oil drilling rig in the United Arab Emirates.

    > He lives vicariously… through himself.
    > He once had an awkward moment, just to see how it feels.
    > His mother has a tattoo that reads… “Son”.
    > His beard alone has experienced more than a lesser man’s entire body.
    > Cuba imports cigars from him.
    > In museums, he is allowed to touch the art.
    > His business card simply says “I’ll call you.”
    > His reputation is expanding faster than the universe…

    He is… THE MOST INTERESTING MAN IN THE WORLD. (or more importantly, he can convince le femmes that he IS… :wink:

    Hat tip to Dos Equis, FTW!

    • #47 by theprivateman on September 8, 2012 - 12:49 PM

      Actually, more than a few people have accused me of that. Those 25 things were simply the easiest to remember. Oh, there’s so much more. My family doesn’t even know half of it.

  22. #48 by Changed Man on November 14, 2012 - 10:19 AM

    Ditto on the weight loss, congrats. I went through a lifestyle change myself, this year. Was 270 lbs at my heaviest last year and was taking meds for type 2 diabetes. Now eating right, running 30+ miles/week, lifting 2-3 times/week, training for a half marathon,170 lbs and beat diabetes. Life is good!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,294 other followers

