Fat Acceptance? Not Here – Post Recycle

[Note: I wrote this post about eight months ago. It’s not the most polite of posts but this is not the most polite of subjects. The financial costs of obesity are staggering and we must address this problem as a society. And while some blogs poke supremely wicked (and offensive) fun at this issue, the seriousness cannot be ignored. We’re killing ourselves with calories.]

This social trend has been around for over 40 years. As Americans have been ballooning up in weight, the fat acceptance movement is getting more attention. It shouldn’t get any attention at all. obesity is both unattractive and unhealthy. It’s just that simple. What, is Private Man indulging in intolerant shaming and prejudice? I’ll accept the accusation of shaming, not that of being prejudiced.

In the overwhelmingly vast majority of cases, being overweight is a choice. Every calorie consumed is a conscious decision. I’m not going to be cast aspersions on a person’s character regarding weight and size. But anyone toting around extra weight must be keenly aware that what they are doing is unhealthy and unattractive. This goes doubly for women.

Certainly I am not unsympathetic to overweight people and people with unhealthy habits. I was once a fat guy at 260 pounds. I lost 60 pounds about five years ago and I am very careful about my calorie intake. Worse, I am a smoker. Every time I have a cigarette, I am making a conscious choice to do so. I expect no acceptance for my bad habit. I don’t need some social movement to shame non-smokers. I am not writing a letter to Hollywood producers asking them to feature more characters smoking in motion pictures.

I chose to be fat avoident by the company I keep and the women I date. This certainly limits my dating pool and I accept the consequences of my preferences. It’s disheartening when I meet sweet, funny, pleasant women who are rendered unattractive by a body ruined by fat. They fail the boner test. As a polite man, I won’t say anything about why I am not attracted, I simply move on.

I do have some advice for younger men. Don’t have sex with women whom you don’t find attractive because of their weight. Yes, it’s unrealistic advice – I didn’t practice this in my youth – yet it still must be said. Young men, especially young men with Charisma, don’t reward bad behavior by sexing up a young woman of excess poundage. To be direct, I am telling young men, no fat chicks. They should be invisible to you.

The fundamental truth is that the feminine attracts the masculine. Too much weight on a woman’s figure is not feminine. “Where are all the good men?” I’m frequently asked. I always refrain from saying “You left them behind 40 pounds ago”.

Woman Up

  1. #1 by FFY on June 27, 2012 - 8:24 PM

    It’s ok PM, I used to think that way, too.

    Luckily, I’ve come around to my sense. Take the final red pill

    http://flyfreshandyoung.wordpress.com/2012/06/27/coming-round-to-fat-acceptance/

  2. #3 by Meggrz on June 27, 2012 - 10:28 PM

    I’m reassured in that if I lost 40 pounds my BMI would be sub-15, and I’d probably be dead.

    I’m interested to know what conclusions you draw from this: http://www.flickr.com/photos/77367764@N00/sets/72157602199008819/with/1497611332/

  3. #4 by rojobag on June 27, 2012 - 11:24 PM

    Resonance. I’ve been overweight for a while. In fact, even when I was a string bean during my teens, I was shamed of taking my shirt off in front of anyone due to the constant shit talk from my local neighbors. I was skinny as a rail. Now I’m 250+ but changing my lifestyle and eating different I have been dropping the baggage whilst acquiring muscle.

    I went hogging once in my life during a dry spell and my little brother, bless his heart, never ever lets me forget, even though he’s married and about to have a kid. He asked me how many chicks I’d been with, I answered, he said, damn more than me, but still, remember ____. Never again.

  4. #5 by Aaron Baugher (@Lord_Mhoram) on June 28, 2012 - 4:31 AM

    I don’t have any use for the fat acceptance stuff either, and in most cases I think it’s just denial — people who have tried and failed to lose weight and don’t know what else to do. They’re trying to make the most of a bad situation, “if you can’t beat it, embrace it” style.

    Here’s why it’s not the same thing as smoking, though. Everyone knows that smoking is unhealthy. When you light up a cigarette, yes, you’re making a conscious choice to trade one more small hit to your health for the pleasure it gives you. Heck, it says so right on the package.

    On the other hand, the fat girl who sits down to a breakfast of Cheerios with skim milk, or a bagel with fat-free cream cheese, doesn’t know that. She’s being told that she’s doing exactly what she needs to do to lose weight and be healthy. Heck, it says so right on the package! When it fails, how much is it her fault? Yes, she could go out and find the right information, but how many people are equipped to do that, or even to recognize that it’s necessary on something as basic as food?

    To lose weight, she doesn’t just have to make a conscious decision and employ a load of willpower (because she’s fighting against what her hormones are telling her to do). She also has to take the red pill on diet, and educate herself against everything she’s been taught and continues to be taught every day by government, magazines, TV, friends, her doctor, etc. She has to reject all that, get off the grain feedbag, and go it alone, with nothing more than some unconventional blogs and forums to support her.

    Imagine trying to quit smoking 70 years ago, when everyone smoked everywhere, and even doctors promoted it for “calming the nerves” in ads all over the place, and the government encouraged and subsidized it instead of taxing it so it was cheap. That’s closer to what the fat person faces today.

  5. #6 by RockHard on June 28, 2012 - 10:36 AM

    In college I had a friend who used to say my problem is that my pride exceeds my lust. Combine that with lack of game and you’ve got a fine recipe for celibacy.

    God, I wish I knew this stuff 20 years ago.

    OTOH, Aaron has a strong point. One other big mistake I see is that women think they can just hit the gym. That’s the easy part of the lifestyle change, the hard part is that you have to cut calories, and if you want to avoid starvation or illness, that means you need to cut the EMPTY calories. That means:

    1. Don’t drink your calories – no soda (pretty much, don’t drink anything out of a bottle), no sugar or cream in your coffee, no “meal replacement” drinks. Protein shakes are a bad idea unless you’re doing enough exercise to actually require them.
    2. Think before you eat. Ask yourself “what am I getting from this?” If the answer is “just full”, pick something different.

    It’s strictly a matter of budgeting. Remember the “twinkie diet”? Stick to 2000 calories a day and moderate daily exercise (I’m talking walking 10 blocks, not running 5 miles or doing Crossfit), you will lose weight. Exercise will tighten you up and improve your posture and overall look, but without cutting the calories, you’ll just end up with a layer of blubber on top of that muscle.

    As far as BMI, I tend to agree with the categories on that flickr photostream. Some of the “overweight” I think are edge cases that you hit with simple height/weight BMI calculation. Do a real BMI with calipers and I think their results would be different.

    • #7 by Andrew Medina on July 1, 2012 - 10:23 AM

      The categories are based on the health insurance industry’s height x weight tables which were designed around sedentary office drones (aka useless fucks). Anyone who builds stuff or lifts quickly finds themselves headed to obese by their math.

      You could also do what the military does and base their math on the proportions of the individual.

  6. #8 by NMH on June 28, 2012 - 1:34 PM

    Iv’e gone on a vegan diet and have lost 20 lbs in 4 months.

  7. #9 by Red Pill Convert on June 28, 2012 - 5:10 PM

    Count on Athol Kay for a good way to sum things up:

    “(For someone that is thin or height and weight proportional), 15 extra pounds is a little more boom in the booty and sexy, 45 extra pounds is medical.”

  8. #10 by Randy on July 5, 2012 - 4:25 AM

    I’m pretty sure those stats aren’t entirely accurate.

  9. #11 by NMH on July 9, 2012 - 8:00 PM

    Here is Tyra and her fat friends to school you, PM. How dare you not think that a fat woman is not beautiful? (0:58):

    • #12 by Lancer on May 9, 2013 - 3:20 PM

      Doesn’t get my dick hard = not hot
      That chick does nothing for my dick, I admit she looks like a nice person, but I would never want her to take off her clothes.

  1. Fat acceptance, and its counterpart… « redpilluser
  2. Linkage Is Good For You: 7.1.12 | Society of Amateur Gentlemen
  3. Daygame: how to meet big ladies in the daytime | Nigel's Big Game Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,510 other followers

